Kirill Kovnir was recognized for exemplary performance and scholarship in research.

Congratulations to our graduate award winners!

Nethmi Hewage photo

Nethmi W. Hewage, a junior majoring in chemistry and minoring in mathematics, has been named a 2022 Goldwater Scholar. The Goldwater Scholarship is the most prestigious undergraduate award in mathematics, natural sciences, and engineering in the US to encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in STEM research.

Left: Chip Nataro, Right: Mahdi Abu-Omar 

Congratulations to Sungu Kim, Baskar Ganapathysubramanian, and Robbyn Anand, whose paper was selected by JACS in a virtual issue of outstanding work published in 2020 where the PI was an early career researcher:  

Milad ZangiabadiCongratulations to Milad Zangiabadi, of the

Alex LeffelHarnessing machine learning for chemistry research

Sadow in Hach Hall labThis is the latest entry in a series of articles by Iowa State News Service telling the person

GSLC officer positions and members.

Vela headshotThe American Chemical Society has named 49 members as ACS Fellows, one of whom is our v

Jared Anderson, professor of chemistry at Iowa State University and faculty scientist at Ames Laboratory, has been named the inaugural holder of the Alice Hudson Professorship in Chemistry in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

 Link magazine, which will be in both print and digital format, includes an article recogizing the impact of Anderson's research and focuses on the philanthropy by Alice Hudson.

Congratulations to our graduate award winners for this year! This was not an easy decision for the Graduate Awards, Seminar, and Library Committee (GASLC), speaking to the large number of outstanding students we have in the department.

Halyna Mudryk received the LAS Merit Excellence award and Yan Zhao received the LAS Award for Outstanding Achievement in Research.

Robbyn Anand is winner of the 2021 ISU Award for Early Achievement in Research. Tom Holme is 2021 recipient of a Margaret Ellen White Graduate Faculty Award.

Kira Rahn (Anand Group) and Marcelino Varona (Anderson Group) were chosen as one of the initial AC/DC Rising Stars in Analytical Chemistry.

Laurice Verlaine Chewouo and Nethmi Hewage, a senior and junior, resepectively, in chemistry were among 60 Iowa State undergraduate students selected to present their research at the 34th annual National Confernece on Undergraduate Research (NCUR) that


Subscribe to News