Chemistry News

Chemistry undergraduate student 1 of 12 Women Impacting ISU

One of the three students selected for the 2019 calendar is our very own Ihssan Ait-Boucherbil, senior in chemistry. The Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women in Politics honored four women in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences by selecting them to be a part of the thirteenth annual Women Impacting ISU calendar in 2019.

The 2019 calendar will be officially unveiled during a reception recognizing the 12 honorees on Wednesday, Jan. 16, from 3:30 to 5 p.m. in the Sun Room/South Ballroom of the Memorial Union. The half-hour program will begin at 4 p.m. After the program, copies of the calendar will be distributed for free. The reception is free and open to the public.

Vela one of seven scientist honored

Javier Vela is one of seven researchers at Iowa State University being recognized by The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), for his work.

The goal of Vela’s research is to design powerful and widely applicable synthetic strategies – across molecular, nano, and bulk scales – that enable the effective incorporation of new materials into energy conversion and catalytic technologies. He has also helped develop a more diverse and inclusive scientific workforce by working with young scientists and engineers, from high school students to postdoctoral scholars.

The new class of AAAS fellows will be announced in the Nov. 29 issue of the journal Science.

The AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of Science and other journals. The association was founded in 1848 and includes nearly 250 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million people.

Lii-Rosales Wins National Award

Congratulations to Ann Lii-Rosales who was given the Nellie Yeoh Whetton Award, a nationally competitive award with the American Vacuum Society, which required that she give a private presentation to its awards committee

Alum honored by Air Force Research Laboratory

Air Force Research Laboratory Space Vehicles Directorate scientist Dr. Benjamin Prince was recognized as an AFRL Science and Engineering Early Career Award winner. Each ECA award winner receives a three-year grant of $100,000 per year in support of their research. (Courtesy photo)

Prince became an AFRL government research chemist in the Space Vehicles Directorate in 2011 after a two-year stint as a National Research Council Postdoctoral Fellow at the directorate. He greatly expanded the scope of the Space Chemistry Laboratory at Kirtland to enable work on space situational awareness, fundamental high-energy physics, next-generation spacecraft propulsion, atmospheric sensing technologies, and hypersonics, all areas of exceptionally high interest to the Air Force. Prince has made outstanding technical contributions to defining fundamental physics associated with fielding future space propulsion systems. He has a Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry form Iowa State University and was the Air Force nominee to the prestigious 2018 Arthur S. Flemming Award for Basic Science.

Congratulations Dr. Benjamin Prince!

Top 10 graduate program at Iowa State

Chemistry is one of six departments that made all three top 10 lists for graduate enrollment.

Iowa Space Grant Consortium Fellows

Shannon Lee and Bryan Owens-Baird, two graduate students in Kirill Kovnir's Group have been awarded fellowships from the Iowa Space Grant Consortium.

This is the second time Lee has been awarded the fellowship, her first award was for enerygy applications. Tlhis is the first award for Owens-Baird. A big congratulations to both of them for their work.

The Iowa Space Grant Consortium (ISGC) will award fellowships to support outstanding graduate students pursuing research opportunities in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) disciplines that support the mission of NASA.

Springer Nature Applied Sciences Journal

Congratulations to Kirill Kovnir as he joins the Editorial Board of Spring Nature Applied Sciences Journal.

Congratulations to Javier Vela

Congratulations to Javier Vela, who was recently invited to join the editorial board of ACS Energy Letters!

Top 40 Under 40

Congratulations to Robbyn Anand who was named as part of the Top 40 Under 40 List in the Analytical Scientist.

Anand also gave a great talk last week as part of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Dean's Lecture Series.

AVS Board

Congratulations to Pat Thiel, who was elected to the board of the American Vacuum Society (AVS).

As a professional Society, AVS supports networking among academic, industrial, government, and consulting professionals involved in a variety of disciplines related to materials, interfaces, and processing. 

Editor-In-Chief Journal of Education

Congratulations to Dr. Tom Holme, who has been named Editor-In-Chief of the Journal of Chemical Education. Established in 1924, this high-impact chemical education publication is co-published by the ACS Division of Chemical Education and ACS Publications. Holme will succeed Professor Norbert J. Pienta of the University of Georgia in January 2020.

Coming Soon to Exascale Computing: Software for Chemistry of Catalysis

The U.S. Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory is launching a four-year, $3.2 million project to develop software that will bring the power of exascale computers to the computational study and design of catalytic materials.

Ames Laboratory scientist Mark Gordon, also the Francis M. Craig Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at Iowa State University, will lead the laboratory’s project.

Ruedenberg article selected as an ACS Editors' Choice publication

Congratulations to Klaus Ruedenberg, whose recent article titled “The Virial Theorem and Covalent Bonding” was just selected as an ACS Editors’ Choice publication.  This is a pretty big deal!  

Klaus’s article makes arguments that go to the very fundamental reasons why bonds exist and what stabilizes a system - potential or kinetic energy.

The Viral Theorem and Covalent Bonding

An excellent year for patents in the Department of Chemistry

Faculty members in the Department of Chemistry were issued 20 patents in the 2018 fiscal year, making up half of the total patents issued within Iowa State University in that timeframe.

Fall 2018 Dean's High Impact Undergraduate Research Awards

Michael Del Viscio (pictured) received a Fall 2018 Dean's High Impact Award for Undergraduate Research. Del Viscio is being mentored by Dr. Theresa Windus in the group working on the Critical Materials Institute project.