Kirill Kovnir has been named among 71  reviewers who have made especially notable contributions to Inorganic Chemistry journal.

Peter DorhoutPeter Dorhout has been named the next vice president for research at Iowa State University.

The Institute for Sustainability and Energy at Northwestern (ISEN) wrote an article that prominently features Prof. Aaron Sadow. Sadow is the director of an ambitious new research center focused on plastic waste upcycling.

Chemistry faculty member Javier Vela and three Iowa State chemistry students took part in the LatinXChem conference which was held Sept. 7- 25. Thousands of Latin American chemists touted their inventive research during this virtual event that was held via Twitter and Zoom.

Gourab Bhaskar, a PhD candidate in the Zaikina group, was featured in the video about the 22nd National School on Neutron and X-Ray Scattering  ( organized by US-DOE Argonne National Laboratory and US-DOE Oak

The Department of Chemistry is pleased to announce that President Wendy Wintersteen approved the formal naming of the North and South lobby areas of Hach Hall as the Patricia A Thiel of Hach Hall.

Associate Teaching Professor, Sarah Pistolesi is being recognized by the Provost for all the work she did and led making introductory laboratory courses viable when we went online. Making the best of 2020 took many hands at the university from last March and still does to this day.

Our condolences to the family of Dr. Patricia (Pat) Thiel, who passed away this last Monday, September 7. She was beloved by many and will be sorely missed.

Rossini GroupThe Journal of the American Chemical Society (JACS) has released&

Two of the department's faculty, and their research, are featured in the current issue of Iowa State's alumni magazine, VISIONS. You can find stoies on Dr. Young-Jin Lee, with Dr. Paige Hinners, as well as Dr. Pat Thiel.

Dr. Robbyn Anand, was named winner of the Pittsburgh Conference Achievement Award for a researcher who has made a significant impact in analytical chemistry within the first 10 years after their doctorate degree. Congratulations!

The Windus and Gordon Groups hosted a virtual MU3C conference from Iowa State last week.

Theresa Windus, Distinguished Professor in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, professor of chemistry and Ames Laboratory associate, has been elected as a 2020 American Chemical Society (ACS) Fellow.

Julia Zaikina who is one of ten faculty at Iowa State to receive the NSF Career Award. Congratulations to Zaikina and all ISU faculty on this achievement.

Ames Laboratory was chosen to lead a new Energy Frontier Research Center (EFRC) and they have named our own Aaron Sadow as center director.

Wenyu Huang was named recipient of this year’s Trapp Innovation award from the LAS college, which will provide him with some funding to pursue a new or unusual initiative.

In addition to having the title of University Professor, Javier Vela will serve as the next John Corbett Professor of Chemistry.  He succeeds Kirill Kovnir as of July 1, 2020 and will be a very worthy holder of the title.

The research is further discussed in the paper, "Unprecedented generation of 3-D-heterostructures by mechanochemical disassembly and re-ordering of incommensurate metal chalcogenides," authored by Oleksandr Dolotko, Ihor Z. Hlova, Arjun K. Pathak, Yaroslav Mudryk, Vitalij K.

Davit Potoyan is working with a collaborator at University of Buffalo to use protein and RNA, scientists have created hollow, spherical sacks known as vesicles.

Deyny Mendivelso-Pérez, a recent PhD graduate, and Emily Smith were part of an interdepartmental team of researchers working on histamine sensors for food safety monitoring.

Javier Vela-Becerra was named University Professor. The title of University Professor is awarded to a faculty member who has acted as a change agent by having made significant contributions to improve the university, and who has demonstrated outstanding performance in a

Anand, RobbynMembers of the Anand Group are developing a paper-strip urine test to detect infection by the coronav

Congratulations to Julia Zaikina, who has been named the American Crystallographic Association’s Etter Early Career Award winner for 2021!

Great work!

Miranda Emaus’s manuscript on allelic discrimination of circulating tumor DNA using multiplex qPCR makes the cover of August 8 issue of Analytica Chimica Acta.

The most recent ACS Journal of Physical Chemistry's cover features an article on Novel Computer Architectures and Quantum Chemistry from the Gordon Group.


Subscribe to News