Welcome to Chemistry

The Central Science. Chemistry is the link that connects problems in the fundamental nature of matter to the most complex problems in the processes of life. Members of our department bring chemistry to life as cutting-edge researchers and as teachers for students across the university.

Undergraduates majoring in chemistry can go on to several professional fields, including medicine and graduate study, and are also in high demand in fields like secondary education.  Our commitment to teaching is also reflected in our desire to build a community environment and provide every opportunity of success for our undergraduates. Toward that end, we  have initiated  a Chemistry Learning Community for our first year and transfer students.

Our Ph.D. program has a history of cutting edge and often interdisciplinary research that will teach you to be an independent scientist, ready for a career in industry or academia. Our goal is to help you learn the most modern research techniques and to think creatively about solutions to major scientific problems.

Ready to Apply?



American Chemical Society: Midwest Regional Meeting

Registration will open this summer for the American Chemical Society's Midwest Regional Meeting (ACS MWRM), held here at Iowa State. Visit https://mwrm2018.chem.iastate.edu/ for additional details.



Faculty Search


For further information about these positions and to apply online see http://www.iastatejobs.com. # 800172.