Chemistry News

Protein Society honors chemistry's Mei Hong with award

Mei Hong, professor of chemistry, is this year's co-recipient of the Irving Sigal Young Investigator Award, presented by the Protein Society. News Release

Sam Houk wins ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry award

Sam Houk, professor of chemistry, has received the 2012 Award in Spectrochemical Analysis by the American Chemical Society Division of Analytical Chemistry.  News Release

Dr. Ramkrishna Adhikary (2011 Zaffarano Prize Winner)

Ramkrishna Adhikary, a Ph.D. student in the Department of Chemistry, received the Zaffarano Prize for 2011. 
News Release

Jeffries-EL receives Rising Star award

Malika Jeffries-EL, assistant professor of chemistry, was named one of 10 winners of the Rising Star Award presented by the Women Chemists Committee of the American Chemical Society. News Release

ACS Fellows

Two Iowa State chemists, Thomas Holme and Ed Yeung, were among the 213 scientists inducted as American Chemical Society Fellows in 2011, the ACS announced. Selection is based on outstanding accomplishments in chemistry and important contributions to ACS, the world’s largest scientific society. 

2010-2011 Faculty and Graduate Student Awards

The Department of Chemistry's fall Convocation was held on Friday, August 26, 2011. Department chair William Jenks was the master of ceremonies and Professor Theresa Windus assisted. MORE...

Iowa State chemist Malika Jeffries-EL designs new polymer structures for use as ‘plastic electronics’

Malika Jeffries-EL, an Iowa State assistant professor of chemistry, is designing new organic polymer structures that conduct electricity and could be useful in solar cells, light-emitting diodes and thin-film transistors. News release.

Keith Woo, ISU & Ames Lab researcher, hunts for green catalysts

Keith Woo of Iowa State University and the Ames Laboratory is looking for cleaner, greener and cheaper catalysts. Woo and his research group are turning to biology for some ideas. And they're developing high-throughput approaches to quickly test a reaction using up to a hundred trillion different catalysts. News release.

Iowa State, Ames Lab researchers describe the pump that bacteria use to resist drugs

A research team led by Edward Yu of Iowa State University and the U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory is identifying the structure of pumps that allow bacteria to resist toxins. Their discoveries are published in the Feb. 24 issue of the journal Nature.News release.

Chemist Mei Hong featured on the NSF's Discoveries website for 'Fighting the Flu'

Iowa State chemist Mei Hong uses NMR to study flu proteins in-depth to identify virus vulnerabilities. See the story from the National Science Foundation's Discoveries website. (Image: Nicolle Rager Fuller, National Science Foundation). NSF's Discovery

Thiel named Corbett Professor

Patricia Thiel, Distinguished Professor in Liberal Arts and Sciences and professor of chemistry at Iowa State University, has been named the next John D. Corbett Professor in Chemistry. More info...

Thomas Holme (top), Patricia Thiel (middle), and John Verkade (bottom) named AAAS Fellows

AMES, Iowa - Nine researchers from Iowa State University - two of them are also affiliated with the U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory - have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). More info...

Spectroscopy demo leads to flu discoveries

Mei Hong's studies of the flu virus have landed in Nature and Science, high-profile journals that regularly create science headlines across the globe. In both papers published this year, the Iowa State chemistry professor and associate of the U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory made important discoveries about the virus while demonstrating the capabilities of solid-state nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy to study the virus. more info...

Nicola Pohl receives innovation award

Four Iowa State women were among 10 award winners at the Technology Association of Iowa's third annual Women of Innovation ceremony, held Nov. 11 in West Des Moines. More info...

Jerome D. Smith, ('84, Corbett group) to receive the 2010 DuPont Excellence Award

The 2010 DuPont Excellence Awards honor employees worldwide who have made extraordinary achievements in science, engineering, sustainable growth, and marketing and sales. Jerome Smith ('84 Corbett group) and three others of Electronics & Communications/Microcircuit Materials were selected to receive the Bolton/Carothers Innovative Science Award, which recognizes creative scientific invention or discovery that results in a recently commercialized new product, technology, or business generating significant revenue with the potential for sustainable earnings. They received the award for Fodel® Bus Electrode Technology for Plasma Display Panels, eliminating lead and the rare metal ruthenium in the black pigment/conductive paste electrode assembly for the panels. All of the 2010 DuPont Excellence Awards will be celebrated on Tuesday, January 18, 2011 at The DuPont Country Club in Wilmington, Delaware.