Chemistry News

Nicola Pohl receives the Horace S. Isbell Award

Nicola Pohl, professor of chemistry, has been selected as the 2010 recipient of the Horace S. Isbell Award from the American Chemical Society Carbohydrate Division. This award, to be presented at the fall ACS meeting, acknowledges excellence in and promise of continued quality of contribution to research in carbohydrate chemistry.
more info...

Sarah Cady wins the Karas Award for Outstanding Dissertation

Congratulations to Sarah Cady, PhD 2009 and current post-doc in Professor Mei Hong's group, for winning the Karas Award. The Karas Award for Outstanding Dissertation has been established to recognize excellence in doctoral research at Iowa State University. Each year the two winners of this award become Iowa State University's nominees to the national competition for the Council of Graduate Schools (CGS)/University Microfilms International (UMI) Distinguished Dissertation Award.

Mei Hong receives ICMRBS Founders Medal

Mei Hong, Professor of Chemistry, has been selected as the recipient of the 2010 International Council on Magnetic Resonance in Biological Systems Founders Medal. This award is given biennially to a young scientist who has made exceptional contributions to the development or progress of the field of magnetic resonance in biological systems.
more info...

Iowa State, Ames Lab researchers preparing for Blue Waters supercomputer

Iowa State University and Ames Laboratory researchers, left to right, Theresa Windus, Monica Lamm and Mark Gordon are working to scale up their computational chemistry tools for the Blue Waters supercomputer being developed at the University of Illinois and its National Center for Supercomputing Applications.
more info...

Victor Lin, Chemistry, named next Corbett Professor

Victor Lin will hold the second John D. Corbett Professorship in chemistry at Iowa State.

Aaron Sadow Receives National Science Foundation CAREER Award

Aaron Sadow, assistant professor of Chemistry at Iowa State University, received a National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award, a prestigious award that supports non-tenured faculty.

The five-year award recognizes junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations.

Patricia A. Thiel selected as a member of the Chemical Sciences Roundtable

Patricia A. Thiel, distinguished professor of chemistry at Iowa State University and a senior chemist at Ames Laboratory, has been selected to a three year term as a member of the Chemical Sciences Roundtable (CSR). The CSR was established by the National Research Council (NRC) and its Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology (BCST). Its objectives are to facilitate enhanced understanding of issues in the chemical sciences and technologies that affect government, industry, academic, national laboratory, and nonprofit sectors, and the interactions among them; and to furnish a vehicle for education, exchange of information and discussion of issues and trends that affect the chemical sciences.

Aaron Sadow selected as Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow

Aaron Sadow, assistant professor of chemistry, has been selected as a 2010 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow. The Sloan Research Fellowships seek to stimulate fundamental research by early-career scientists and scholars of outstanding promise. These two-year fellowships are awarded yearly to researchers in recognition of distinguished performance and a unique potential to make substantial contributions to their field.

Nicola Pohl and Mei Hong receive grants from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA)

Iowa State, Ames Lab chemists discover how antiviral drugs bind to and block flu virus

Tom Greenbowe nominee wins ACS James Bryant Conant Award in High School Chemistry Teaching.

Patricia A. Thiel wins Arthur W. Adamson Award

Patricia A. Thiel, distinguished professor of chemistry at Iowa State University and a senior chemist at Ames Laboratory wins the Arthur W. Adamson Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Surface Chemistry.

Sam Houk gives 2010 Werth Lectures at Concordia College

Sam Houk was invited to give the 2010 Werth Lectures at Concordia College in Moorhead, MN on January 21 and 22, 2010. His research lecture was: “Solving Scientific problems by Mass Spectrometry: From Elemental Analysis to 3D Structures of Proteins” and his career lecture was “Choosing a Career in Chemistry: Grad School, Job, Med/professional School?”

The Werth Lectures are done in honor of Dr. Richard G. Werth who began teaching at Concordia College in 1950. He was chosen in 1972 as an Outstanding Education of America for his civic and professional achievements. He retired in 1990 and passed away in 1993.

Victor Lin leading a team embarking on a $5.3 million study of biodiesel production from algae.

News Release

Mei Hong and Mark Gordon named AAAS Fellows

News Release